Imagine a man SO focused on God….

“Imagine a man SO focused on God that the only reason he looked up to see you is because he heard God say, “That’s her.” 

 I saw this on a friend’s Instagram and wished I could quadruple tap this quote! I know as Christians living on earth we have to have balance; however, as for me, when it comes to keeping my eyes open for my future husband, men who are not of God will not be entertained.

“So you are judging now Joc? Nobody’s perfect and everybody falls short.”

And if you have this same response you are right, no one is perfect…BUT as a DEVOUT Christian, I am very aware of the difference between “struggling” with sin and “living” in it. Before I rededicated my life to Christ, I was without a doubt living in sin. I CONVINCED myself I was struggling, but since I knew Christ I was good. But the truth of the matter is, while on some things I was convicted enough to walk away…there was plenty of tom foolery that I took part in on a consistent basis – and enjoyed it. I felt ok with what I was doing. AFTER I gave up my old life of sin and got serious about my life with Christ, I still am not perfect, but I no longer participate in the sin that I once did. I don’t hang around the same places as I did before. I don’t spend as much time with the people I did before. I still have thoughts here and there if I’m flipping through the radio or see a commercial that reminds me of a fun time I had back in my sinful life, but then I think of how it was not worth the certain death that was coming for me and I brush it off. THAT my dear saints is “struggling”. I don’t curse or drink or club or participate in premarital relations any more; however, I may have flashbacks here and there or have a vengeful thought float across my mind after seeing someone who did me wrong in the store. I ask for forgiveness and focus on having the mind of Christ because I am CONVICTED and TURN AWAY from whatever sin is trying to grasp my mind at the moment. 

Which brings me back to the quote. Since I am not perfect, but seek to walk in the perfected, ordered steps of the Lord, one of my hearts deepest desire is to be gifted a man to marry that lives in the same way. If he is going to the priest of MY household, he will need to have God first in his life and will be able to conduct his business in a godly manner. I can’t have no ole drunk, smokey, abusive, wayward husband. What example will that set for our children? For me? If our future kids go astray, it WON’T be because they don’t have good examples at home. 

Yes, men should focus on other things along with God like security, family time, etc, but if a man doesn’t EXUDE the light that come from having a devout walk with Christ…that’s definitely not the man for me. I have most CERTAINLY fallen short and my past is riddled with too many holes to count; however I have been made WHOLE in Christ since I’ve turned from my wicked ways and have allowed Him to conform my will to His. You can be the nicest, sweetest, most attractive guy in the world; but without the God factor – I won’t and can’t bend.

– Joc

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Joc's Observations, Quotes To Live By, The Christian Life

4 responses to “Imagine a man SO focused on God….

  1. Amen and amen. Blessed sharing 🙂

  2. Very good post Joc!

  3. Continue to be STRONG…Don’t ever settle and PRAY for what GOD’s will!

Leave a Reply

