Lessons For Life (according to Corinthians 7-9) CONT’D

female-runners-competing-in-a-track-raceOver the past few weeks I’ve been drawn to I Corinthians and have really been taking the time to absorb what it speaks on. Here is a continuation of what I’ve been rereading and dissecting 1 Corinthians Chapters 7-9 in detail.

Here is more of what I found out:

4. You need to run your race and not stumble trying to catch up to someone else. – Chapter 9 verses 24-27 read, “Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we van imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.”  Throughout the bible your life as a Christian is likened to ‘a race’. In a [track] race every participant has their own lane and own position based on their past performances and stats. Some start ahead of others and some are given a head start – but that doesn’t mean the one who gets the head start will win the race. A lot of times the one put in the unfavorable lane will come from behind (seemingly out of nowhere), overtake everyone and burst into 1st place. Everyone’s goal is to get to the finish line and as long as they stay in their lane and not get distracted by looking to the side or behind of them, they won’t trip and fall and be able to run to the end. race-300x225

Our Christian walks are EXACTLY like a race as Paul says in the scripture above. Everyone has different beginnings. Some people are born into wealthy families with unlimited opportunities, some are born into middle class yet loving families, and some people are born into poverty or dysfunctional conditions – but at the end of the day, everyone has an equal chance to run their race and make it to eternal life. I may not have a 6 – figure salary or my business may not be growing as fast as some others, or I may not be married with 2.5 kids; but I can’t concern myself with that. I have to pace myself and stay in my ‘lane’. If I worry about whose doing what and who appears to be succeeding or ‘living the good life’, I may trip up and fall because I’m too busy looking all around instead of keeping focused on the finish line ahead. No I’m not married. No I don’t have children. No I don’t make the amount of money I desire. Yes my business is growing slower than I’d probably want it – but that’s ok. I’d rather take my time running my race as God would have me than to mess my life up or detour my dreams by marrying the first guy I see out of desperation or selling drugs to make more money or getting pregnant just because I want children or cheating and deceiving to get ahead in my business. I am just fine pacing myself – I’ll make it to the finish line eventually and when I do, that eternal life will be SO sweet!

– Joc

Leave a comment

Filed under Joc's Observations, The Christian Life

Leave a Reply

