When Christianity Mixes with Politics….

One morning back in March while in the Dunkin Donuts drive thru, I was listening to my morning devotion when I saw that the car in front of me was littered with bumper stickers. The purpose of putting bumper stickers on your car is so others can read them right?!

I proceeded to read. 

I quickly noticed that there were ‘Romney/Ryan 2012’ Campaign stickers out the wazoo, and while some of them were the typical, everyday stickers you’d see on anyone’s car; I noticed a huge, whopping Obama is a douche[bag]” sticker smack dab in the middle for all to see. 

Although I may not have agreed with this person’s political views, I totally respected their right to have a difference of opinion. You’re going to have jerks on the Republican AND Democratic sides; but oddly enough, I also noticed that encircling this mean spirited sticker, were a slew of ‘JESUS’ and ‘I’m a Christian’ stickers.

 

TALK ABOUT CONFUSING!!!

 

Like I previously stated, everyone on this earth is not going to agree on every single thing (certainly not politics); however, as a Christian I believe that there is a Christ like way in doing everything! In Titus, we are reminded that [we] are to be ready [to do] every good work.

 Titus 3 :1-2; 8-9 (ESV) 

Remind them to be submissive to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready for every good work, 2 to speak evil of no one, to avoid quarreling, to be gentle, and to show perfect courtesy toward all people. 

The saying is trustworthy, and I want you to insist on these things, so that those who have believed in God may be careful to devote themselves to good works. These things are excellent and profitable for people.But avoid foolish controversies, genealogies, dissensions, and quarrels about the law, for they are unprofitable and worthless. 

You don’t HAVE to like our president, or your next door neighbor, or whoever; but you DO need to be careful of your actions and choose words that glorify God. If that person in front of me that morning would’ve only had the typical ‘Romney/Ryan’ and those ‘Jesus’ bumper stickers – it would STILL be clear that they were Republican and loved Jesus. The ones bashing President Obama were not necessary at all. I know some people will read this and say “It’s a free country and they have free speech”.

It is true, we do have the right as Americans to say and do what we want; but does the same go for us as Christians? Should we say any and everything that comes to our minds? Whether we like it or not, our every move is being watched. The moment we do or say something that is “like the world”, our Christian character will be attacked. SO wouldn’t it be wise to choose your words and actions a little more carefully?

I’ll leave you with one of the quotes I live by each and every day.

“The difference between a smart [man] and a wise [man] is that a smart [man] knows what to say, a wise [man] knows whether or not to say it.”

 

Be blessed,

Joc

Leave a comment

Filed under Joc's Observations, Society and Such, The Christian Life

Leave a Reply

