Let’s All Donate To Help Ava’s Recovery (from brain surgery)

Growing up I never met anyone like me.

Baby Joc at birth after surgery

Baby Joc at birth after surgery

The only other kids I knew that went to the hospital as much as I did were the ones I saw in the pamphlets on the coffee table while I waited to go in for yet another CT Scan/MRI. I was never allowed to go gymnastics. I wasn’t allowed to do half of the stuff other kids my age did because I had a shunt. 

At birth I had a rare form of hydrocephalus in combination with 2 unconnected arachnoid cysts in my brain. There were times growing up that I wondered if I would live to ever reach adulthood. Even now, God constantly gives me hope when thoughts of not being able to birth my own children come to my mind. I know I’m a miracle because each day I’ve been alive was another day I wasn’t supposed to be here. It is another day that I’m supposed to be cooped up in a hospital bed in a vegetative state. 

About 4 years ago, one of my college friends changed my ‘feeling of aloneness’ when she revealed that one of her twins had Dandy Walker Syndrome and had a shunt as well.

Little Ava

Little Ava

Though I’ve never had the pleasure of meeting little Ava in person, I instantly felt a connection to her (yes even though Facebook). She will have to face challenges of her own, but if she’s anything like her mom, she will succeed beyond everyone’s expectations. She has a mother and father who love her and two sisters and more family who will undoubtedly have her back as well. God and family are important for a child living with a shunt because they will be able to give love and support on even the worst of days. 

Well unfortunately, one of Ava’s worst days has come sooner than later. Over the past month or so, she has had to have emergency surgery to revise her shunt due to a malfunction. For those who don’t know, a shunt is a device placed in your cranium that is triggered to drain any fluid that may build up in your brain. Ever heard of ‘water on the brain’? Yeah, well if too much pressure is created….your brain can suffocate and you could die. So now you understand how much of a miracle Ava is since she has survived not one, but two close calls! 

While Ava’s progress and very breath is miracle enough, her parents (who are my age) are now faced with the trail that every parent who has a little miracle must go through ….paying for treatment. 

Support Ava! Donate ANYTHING to help!

Support Ava! Donate ANYTHING to help!

Through God’s grace touching the hospital staff and even strangers, my parents were able to pay back the hundreds of thousands of dollars it took to for me to have my surgeries and receive treatment. Now it’s OUR turn to help bless Ava’s parents; Fred and Demetria Wilson. 

Here’s what I’d like you to do….

visit

http://www.gofundme.com/556bug#

…and pledge ANYTHING you can. Right now Ava receives physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy 2-3 times a week. With this most recent hospitalization, her recovery will require a tracheotomy and a feeding tube. Once Ava is stable enough to leave the hospital she will attend an inpatient rehab facility in Charlotte, NC or Atlanta, GA – which will cost her parents MORE money. 

You will only be charged the amount you pledge and nothing more. So if you can only donate $10…then only $10 will come out. Any amount will help. I know my family and I will donate because we know all too well the impact being/having a child requiring consistent hospital care can have on your life. 

Ava, her twin sister Mya, and little sister Zoe

Ava, her twin sister Mya, and little sister Zoe

Whether you are of the Christian faith or not, just know that your life will be touched in a very special way when you invest in the life of this glowing, and very special little girl. 

Since I AM of the Christian faith and know that we are all here to be a blessing to each other, I’m reminded of what Matthew 25:40 says… ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers,you did it to me.’ (ESV)

SO WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR??!?! PLEDGE NOW!

Thanks,

– Joc

1 Comment

Filed under Joc's Observations, Society and Such

One response to “Let’s All Donate To Help Ava’s Recovery (from brain surgery)

  1. Demetria Wilson

    Words cannot express how much this post means to me! I am in tears. Through Ava’s journey I continue to discover the fact that God places people in my life for a reason..And I am grateful to have met you! Who knew that living in the same college dorm would have connected us in this way! I want you to know that your life has given me more hope. Thank you so much for your support.

Leave a Reply

