Christians Can Meditate Too!

I know this may seem super random but I just now, honestly absorbed the true meaning of scriptures like Joshua 1:8 that reads, “This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success.”(KJV)  and Psalm 1:2 that says, “But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.”(KJV)

For example. At least once every month, it seems as though a negative person from my past passes my path whether it’s in my hometown, online, at a mutual friend’s gathering, or even while out of town. For awhile the first thought that popped into my head was, “Ohhh Lord! Really?! I gotta deal with THIS clown?!” But about a year and a half ago, I actually started make it a point to Google scriptures that spoke to what I was feeling. So the next time I saw that negative person from the past, I had a scripture on hand to calm me down. Or if I was having a hard day at work I’d say a passage or two to myself that spoke to the stress I was feeling. Or I’d go home to look up what the Bible said about healing and how to live a prosperous life.

Today is the day that it finally hit me….I was doing was “meditating”! Meditating on God’s word (to be exact) and it was having a positive influence in my life! 

I’m pretty sure everyone, like me, thought at one time meditating only applied to folks like Tina Turner whenever she converted to Buddhism; but when you take a moment to think about, meditating is simply saying the same thing over and over again until it gets into your subconscious.

The same applied to me when I kept saying those Bible scriptures over and over. I’m at the point now where I can be feeling myself getting overwhelmed by whatever is going on during my day, and immediately recalling and “chanting” a scripture that applies to peace or joy. By doing that, I’m able to focus more on what God’s word says and less on the stress or fear or anger that’s trying to claim my mind – thus making me a happier, calmer Joc!

 phil_419It’s wild!! I know some of you folks that have been saved for a billion years may be thinking, “Well DUH Joc. The scripture lays it out plain and clear what meditating is?!” Well I’m not ashamed to say, it took me actually EXPERIENCING it to finally understand it.

So for all the Christians who want to know how to put ‘mind over matter’ and posess the power to make every day the best it can be think of meditating like this: 

STEP 1 – Google or research different scriptures that speak on things like “peace, joy, health, wisdom, fear, pain, etc” and write it down somewhere. It helps if you chose ones that are like 1-3 sentences. It’s easier to remember.

STEP 2 – Take one verse and make the commitment to read it every day for a week. At the end of the week, see if you can recall it without having to look down at your paper or look it up in the Bible.

STEP 3 – Do this with each verse and keep adding on. So for example, by the end of Week #2, you should be able to recall the verse you learned in Week #1 IN ADDITION to the one you just learned in Week #2.

STEP 4 – Once you run out of verses. Start over or look up new ones. Whenever something negative or bad happens during your day (stress, sickness, jealous coworkers, mean boss, troublesome kids, etc) see if you can recall that scripture. Keep saying it over and over again until you calm down.

STEP 5 – Repeat.

I’m telling you, if you’re really serious about it and want to improve your Christian walk, doing this will save you from beating a lot of folks tails, cussing out a many of coworkers, and staying sane when trials come.

– Joc

ps. I’ll come back and correct the typos later. haha

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Joc's Observations, Quotes To Live By, The Christian Life

Leave a Reply

