‘Duck Dynasty’ Star Suspended Indefinitely for Anti-Gay Remarks

(via Entertainment Weekly)

According to the report, A&E announced that Robertson would be placed “under hiatus from filming indefinitely” after making comments in GQ that sparked criticism from the gay community.

Robertson was quoted, saying, “Everything is blurred on what’s right and what’s wrong… Sin becomes fine. Start with homosexual behavior and just morph out from there. Bestiality, sleeping around with this woman and that woman and that woman and those men.”

He continued, ”It seems like, to me, a vagina — as a man — would be more desirable than a man’s anus, that’s just me,” Robertson said. ”I’m just thinking: There’s more there! She’s got more to offer. I mean, come on, dudes! You know what I’m saying? But hey, sin: It’s not logical, my man. It’s just not logical.”

Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation responded to the comments on Wednesday.

“Phil and his family claim to be Christian, but Phil’s lies about an entire community fly in the face of what true Christians believe,” GLAAD spokesman Wilson Cruz said in a statement.

A&E Networks said in a statement that Robertson’s “personal views in no way reflect those of A&E Networks, who have always been strong supporters and champions of the LGBT community.” Even the governor of Louisiana Bobby Jindal  felt compelled to respond via NBC News, “I don’t agree with quite a bit of stuff I read in magazine interviews or see on TV.  In fact, come to think of it, I find a good bit of it offensive; but I also acknowledge that this is a free country and everyone is entitled to express their views.  In fact, I remember when TV networks believed in the First Amendment. It is a messed up situation when Miley Cyrus gets a laugh, and Phil Robertson gets suspended.”

I’d be interested in hearing the thoughts of my Christian followers on this. 

An old classmate of mine posted this status,I love the phrase “I was born gay” like it should automatically be accepted in society. Well, I was born to steal, cheat, lie, gossip, lust and many other things but it doesn’t mean that I get to go out and do it. Being gay does not make you a bad person just as disagreeing with the lifestyle doesn’t make us judgmental and blind. – B.Johnson” 

My bulleted thoughts on these recent events:

#1

I am a Christian who hates sin, but loves the sinner. Therefore, while I disagree with all sexually immoral/sinful lifestyles (homosexuality, fornication, prostitution) I still love and respect people as people. I am able to interact and work with those individuals despite how I feel morally. Even thinking on individuals in my family; I don’t always agree with the choices they make or their willingness to knowingly participate in sinful activities, but I still love them at the end of the day. I can still laugh and joke with them all the same. But they know that I’m not going to give them a high five when it comes to certain things.

#2

I could respect the network’s actions more if they could actually say that they were surprised by Phil Robertson’s interview. I don’t even watch the show regularly but know that the entire Robertson clan is a “no pulls, no punches” type of clan when it comes to their Christian faith. In other words, they are not ashamed. So the network KNEW exactly who they were hiring when they agreed to launch the show. Don’t act surprised now!

#3

A lot of people who live ‘variant’ lifestyles tend to lash out and use the word “tolerate” out of context.  If a brand or individual praises and openly accepts lifestyles that include premarital sex, polygamy, or homosexuality – they are just the bees knees. They are exalted for “speaking up and out for the underdogs”. But if a brand or individual speaks up against a variant lifestyle they are bashed, boycotted, called ignorant, and labeled “intolerant”. The definition of tolerant is, “showing willingness to allow the existence of opinions or behavior that one does not necessarily agree with.”  Me disagreeing with your chosen lifestyle does not make me intolerant. You may not agree with my lifestyle as a Christian, but I won’t call you intolerant — I’ll let you have your opinion and keep it moving. So the fact that Phil Robertson disagrees with certain lifestyles and voiced his belief aloud, does NOT make him intolerant or bigoted. 

#4

If you don’t agree, turn the station. If I don’t agree with the morals of certain television shows or websites or radio shows — I simple turn the dial. I would be naive to not understand that freedom of speech applies to everyone. Even to the people who may not like me because of my skin color. At the end of the day, they are going to think what they think unless they allow God to change their heart, so I keep it moving. If a movie comes on where a girl is tricking on a corner and it offends me…I will turn it off. If a homosexual love scenes pops up in a television show, I will simply turn the station. If a song comes on the radio and every other word is **bleep this** and **bleep that**, I’ll turn to another station. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Joc's Observations, Society and Such, The Christian Life

Leave a Reply

