Fiery Trials…Eh, What’s New?

Over the past few months I have really been fighting hard to keep my faith in God as it regards to my future and the next life steps ahead of me. Stress and exhaustion have slowly been trying to creep into my psyche and kill my zeal for the exciting future God has for me. Work is super stressful and don’t get me started on my personal life! I have been literally on edge, frustrated that the next steps aren’t as clear to my natural senses as I want them to be.

But thanks to my upbringing in The Word of God (Holy Bible) I have been equipped and have godly spiritual counsel to refer to when times REALLY got low. I’ll admit, there were days over the past few months that I simply didn’t “feel” like reading my bible. I wanted to just go to sleep or watch a movie and sulk in my emotions. AND THERE WERE MOST DAYS I DID JUST THAT! But more recently, I have been able to come to my spiritual senses, and when my Daily Bible Verse popped up last week, I had to just sit and shake my head at how spiritually blind I was allowing myself to be.

“Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice insofar as you share Christ’s sufferings, that you may also rejoice and be glad when his glory is revealed.” – 1 Peter 4:12-13

 

I KNEW that this was true without a shadow of a doubt….because I’ve lived it before! It’s like a constant cycle when you truly give your life to Christ. You’re either in a storm, just getting out of a storm, or getting ready to go into a storm. Regardless of how much we want it to be this way, life will never be sunny skies always. God allows us to experience hard times and temporary “blindness” so we can strengthen our faith and dependence on Him.

These past few months are no different.

If you’re like me and have been experiencing frustration and indecision on your job, in your relationship, or any other area of your life — just keep this verse nearby to remind you that the clouds will soon roll back and you’ll be able to shout like it’s nobody’s business when they do!

– Joc

Leave a comment

Filed under Joc's Observations, The Christian Life

Leave a Reply

