Beware of #TeamNoSleep

I was listening to the Yolanda Adams Morning Show this morning (as I always do on my way to work) and they were discussing this delusional statement #TeamNoSleep. Now I have to be honest, I lived by this mantra up until 8 months ago. I have a full time job, own 2 businesses, and I do volunteer work. I figured the only way to be able to live life making a living from my dream career would be to work myself dry now and reap the benefits down the road.

I WAS SO OFF!

Fact: Americans put emphasis on the notion that hard work and workaholic lifestyles equal success.

But the truth is God did not design us to live that way. If we were capable of doing everything on our own, there would be no need for Him. AND SINCE THAT ISN’T REALITY and we DO need God for everything, we need to know when to work and know when to rest. Since I was 19 years old, “late nights, early mornings” were second nature to me. I sacrificed friend time, family time, my love life, and even more alarmingly…my health if it meant getting work done.

Many people don’t know this but over the past 3 years I’ve been sick and hospitalized more than I’ve been since I was a kid! I thought it was just asthma or allergies getting me down, but what was actually happening was my body was giving me a wakeup call! Working on the go, eating out all the time, getting 2 – 3hours sleep at a time, working all day then staying up all night editing photos was slowly depleting my immune system. I learned THE HARD WAY that our bodies NEED rest and there is nothing glorious about passing out dead from an unhealthy lifestyle.

 

Mark 4: 35-38 NLT reads, “As evening came, Jesus said to his disciples, “Let’s cross to the other side of the lake.” So they took Jesus in the boat and started out, leaving the crowds behind (although other boats followed). But soon a fierce storm came up. High waves were breaking into the boat, and it began to fill with water. Jesus was sleeping at the back of the boat with his head on a cushion. The disciples woke him up, shouting, “Teacher, don’t you care that we’re going to drown?”

ALSO…

Mark 6: 30-31 NLT reads, “The apostles returned to Jesus from their ministry tour and told him all they had done and taught. Then Jesus said, “Let’s go off by ourselves to a quiet place and rest awhile.” He said this because there were so many people coming and going that Jesus and his apostles didn’t even have time to eat.”

If JESUS knew enough to rest with all of the ministry He did, we not only need to be concerned about just our spiritual health, but our physical too! I mean come on, Jesus was the SON OF GOD…and He rested to show us what we need to do. After all, a Christian is someone who is a follower of Christ and His teachings correct?! CORRECT!

So the next time you jump on that bandwagon talking about “We hustling ova here” “#TeamNoSleep” “Late Nights, Early Mornings” – just know that you sound dumb and are quickly on your way to being the newest member of #TeamSixFeetUnder and #TeamNoMore.

Take care of yourself folks. TRUE hustlers know that there is a balance to this thing. Levels.

Be Blessed, Joc

2 Comments

Filed under Joc's Observations, The Christian Life

2 responses to “Beware of #TeamNoSleep

  1. Life for Christians is to be enjoyed and work is included. Never try to overdue things for that really is a sin.We must trust and rely on our LORD for all our needs and successes.

  2. I’ve had to learn this as well.

Leave a Reply

