Keep Calm….God is Working – My Thoughts on “Stinking Thinking”

During the past four weeks God has really been dealing with me on the subject of THOUGHTS. Often times I find myself slipping into “stinking thinking” (as Joyce Meyers would say).  More recently I’ve had moments where I’ll become preoccupied with the future…you know… Am I ready to own a home? What’s the next step? When will my prayers for a family come to fruition? Will I be spiritually, emotionally, and physically ready? Why do I feel stuck? Am I making the right decision for my businesses? Am I truly emotional and physically healed from my past hurts to enjoy the present? AND SO ON AND SO FORTH!

Last Thursday I woke up with a cluster of revelations rushing to my mind. First of all, I realized that I needed a good slap on the back of the neck because I am God’s child! I believe in and wholeheartedly follow His son Jesus Christ PLUS I pick up my cross daily to follow Him SOOOOO I have no business worrying about ANYTHING to begin with (oh what needless pains I bore)

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” – Jeremiah 29:11 NLT

“Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.” – 2 Chronicles 7:14 NLT

“The name of the LORD is a strong fortress; the godly run to him and are safe.” – Proverbs 18:10 NLT

Secondly, “stinking thinking” has interrupted my peace. God has not given ANY of us a spirit of fear, but of peace and of love and of a sound mind. He gives us His peace —

“Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” – John 14:27 KJV

— so that we can work on ‘chill mode’ while He works out all the ‘particulars’.  I’ve found myself lately getting so caught up in my dreams, and my excitement, and my desires, that I’ve virtually forgotten to bring them to God the Father and leave them there. It’s like I’ve been praying this entire time, “God help me with this and that as I kneel before Your throne of grace. Amen” — wait a few seconds, start packing all my prayer requests back into my heart, and turn around to go back to my daily life with the VERY SAME STUFF I just asked God to take care of! How silly is that?! I know, God’s evidently been working on me!

A third thing I was reminded of is that negative thinking has been holding up my healing – and I’m not just talking about emotional! Thinking toxic thoughts have the power to halt our physical healing too! God is not a respecter of persons, but a respecter of faith —

“You don’t have enough faith,” Jesus told them. “I tell you the truth, if you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible.” – Matthew 17:20 NLT

–and when we allow negative thoughts to take over, it dampens our faith and hope of ever being healed from: that terrible cold, that excruciating back pain, that digestion problem, that asthma, that chronic disease, anything! Not saying God isn’t going to heal me unless I have 100% faith (sometimes my faith ain’t all the way on fleek), but that’s something I need to be working towards; and I believe that God works more quickly once our faith lines up with what we KNOW He can do! (just look at Jairus and the ‘Woman with the Issue of Blood’ in the books of Mark and Luke). Our faith may be on 60% (aka on sub-fleek), but I confidently believe that even with that little bit that we muster up, we can still tap into SO much more as Christians when our thoughts are lined up with God’s. Our positive and hopeful thinking will carry our faith even further and carry us into the healed and happy future God wants ALL of us to have!

“For who has understood the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ.” – 1 Corinthians 2:16 ESV

Our thoughts have the power to shape our future – whether through how it drives us to act or feel or believe. It’s in our best interest to make sure our thinking is fresh and alive! Join me in kicking that “stinking thinking” to the curb, and walk with me into a prosperous future!

– Joc

2 Comments

Filed under Joc's Observations, The Christian Life

2 responses to “Keep Calm….God is Working – My Thoughts on “Stinking Thinking”

  1. Thanks for the Great Read! Stinking Thinking is totally Out! Be loving,and positive, even if its difficult. Make a Difference wherever you go!

Leave a Reply

